5 Days For The Price of 1

So somebody at the UN is not so good at scheduling and there are 5 Days being celebrated today.

The 21 st of March is the International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, World Poetry Day, the International Day of Nowruz, World Down Syndrome Day and the International Day of Forests

Poetry is a really awesome means of expression and I really love how impassioned slam poetry performances often are. Poetry can really connect with our emotions and there are so many awesome slam poets who use it is a vehicle to address topics which we don’t often discuss and  which make us uncomfortable. So, for World Poetry Day and The International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination here are some really great poems about racial discrimination:

I really like this poem by Rachel Rostad which demonstrates how racial discrimination is not always done consciously or maliciously but is still problematic.

Last one, I promise. This poem demonstrates how ridiculous it is when we deny and ignore racial discrimination and white privilege

Lets not be that “All Lives Matter” guy, lets engage in meaningful discussions about race and discrimination instead because discrimination will definitely not end if we cannot even acknowledge it exists. Well that’s my 2 cents on the topic anyway, I most definitely cannot express my ideas about racial discrimination as eloquently or entertainingly  as the above poets.

I know I haven’t made it through all the days  but I’m going to stop before this post gets out of control.

Are you celebrating any of the occasions being marked today? Let me know if you are.

I will do a catch up post about the rest of the Days soon. Until then I hope you have all had a discrimination free day while poetically strolling through forests.

Leave a Reply

