Never Ever Mess With My Beans

2016 has been designated the International Year of Pulses (IYOP). So, on top of the 129 United Nation’s calendar events, every day is leg(ume) day. While I am patiently waiting for the first Day (Jan 27th) I thought I would begin my year of legume appreciation.

I am a big fan of Pulses, they’re a great source of protein and iron for all of us non-meat eaters and are really versatile. I really love a good chickpea burger. Here is a recipe for my favourite chickpea patties (I tend to just put stuff in until it is the right consistency so no quantities sorry):

  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 1 egg
  • sweet chili sauce

mash these all together then add the following:

  • Breadcrumbs
  • chopped spring onions
  • and some salt and pepper/ any other herbs you want to add

They make super delicious burgers I especially like to have them with beetroot relish.

In other legume deliciousness in honour of the IYOP this will finally be the year I try to make dahl. I have been meaning to do this for ages so if anyone has a good recipe let me know…

Until the 27th

 

 

2 thoughts on “Never Ever Mess With My Beans

Leave a Reply

