Origin Story.

After reading an article on NPR about the abundance of holidays (?) celebrated on the UN calendar I thought it would be a bit of a laugh to actually celebrate, or commemorate, each of these events throughout the year.

This initial reaction was based upon some strange days (World Toilet Day, anyone?) and others which seem like a lot of fun. World Food Day and International Mountain Day for example. However, as I thought about it more I realised this could also be a good opportunity to educate myself about global issue, and maybe motivate me to become a more politically engaged.

In this blog I will be documenting the evidence of each “day” that I celebrate. I hope to celebrate all 129. By keeping a record of this I am also hoping I will be a little less inclined to cheat and be lazy.

See you on the 27th for the International Day of Commemoration in Memory of the Victims of the Holocaust.

 

Leave a Reply

